Second Jobs

GlasgowGirl

Facilitator
Jul 22, 2008
As we all get more and more worried about the coming recession, with predictions that up to 1 in 10 of us will lose our jobs, I wondered how many of us had thought of getting a second job? Not necessarily one with regular hours - for example, I know someone who sells hand-made clothes on the internet to top up her income, and another person who does freelance acupressure as a sideline. Many of us will have saleable skills, so perhaps now is the time to be thinking of making use of them?

scotchlass

Facilitator
Sep 5, 2008
I think it will become more of a feature if unemployment begins to rise. My hubby works offshore and seems to be safe but I have been working as a freelance writer for about 4 months now. It is not big money, but an average of £50 a week helps to pay a bill or top-up the food shopping. I do work a fair bit but pay is low due to the recession just now so it will be interesting to see how the freelance market reacts to the credit crunch if more people go freelance.

Witch consumer

Sep 8, 2008
Debtors retreat
I have a 2nd job in a local Spar, I've been doing it for about 6 weeks and really enjoy it, the pay isn't good but I enjoy the company and having something different to do, I have even lost a few pounds with the walking and lifting!!!

Thing is tho, should we feel guilty about taking a second job when so many people are losing theirs?

Tony

What Consumer Founder
Apr 7, 2008
Bolton

scotchlass

Facilitator
Sep 5, 2008
Thing is tho, should we feel guilty about taking a second job when so many people are losing theirs?

Hmm I never really thought of that!! That's a tough one to answer- I'm not really sure where I stand on this..... I suppose that I would have to be in that position before I make my decision on whether it is morally wrong! :confused:

Tony

What Consumer Founder
Apr 7, 2008
Bolton