Mobile phone and Paypal Dispute

Tankie1rtr

Aug 27, 2013
York. North Yorkshire
Hello All.
I am a newbie so please forgive me if I have posted this in the wrong site. I purchased a mobile phone HTC One s from ebay, it was described as very good condition as new. when I got it I had a bit of trouble firing it up but after a long charge it worked ok, I had the phone 4 weeks then it stopped working, I asked for a refund and the seller refused, I opened a dispute with paypal, in the meantime, I got in touch with HTC Support and spoke to an engineer, he asked me for the IMEI number, when I gave it to him he told me the phone was made for the Czech Republic and it had a warranty until 2015 BUT that warranty was void because someone had. "Quote" Mobile phone was potentially rooted or had a software change to debrand the device from the Czech Network, "Unquote" he also said that this may or may not be the cause of the problem.... I telephoned Paypal to tell them I had this document from HTC and what it said, and that the phone had been rooted 3 week prior to me buying it. I received an email from Paypal saying that they had found in the sellers favour, I appealed my case, and told them again about the letter from HTC Engineer, (This time I phoned Paypal and told them, on two separate phone calls) I received an email yesterday saying that they had again found in the sellers favour, I asked them by email how could they do this when they hadn't even had a copy of the letter from HTC, as I had not managed to find a way to send it to them, right up to yesterday 26/08/2013. on this date I managed to attach it to an email, they just told me 'Case Closed' and I cannot appeal again. on part of an email I received about the appeal it said "Quote" Paypal will evaluate ALL information including original listing and both sellers and buyers statements. "Unquote"... So how can have done this, they knew I had the letter from HTC but hadnt seen it ???