Money saving ideas for students

Tony

What Consumer Founder
Apr 7, 2008
Bolton
Well I am not a student, but I wish someone had given me some pointers when I was at university. Anyway, here goes:

1. Create a weekly budget for yourself and stick to it. One good way to do this is to get the cash you need for the week from the bank and don't spend anything on credit or debit cards. If you are not disciplined enough to do this, send your student loan to your parent and ask them to send you a weekly allowance by standing order.
2. Don't blow your student loan on a new stereo

Any more...

Jeddo

Facilitator
Jun 21, 2008
3. Set aside a booze budget... Well, just a thought ;-)

4. Buy your course books second-hand and resell them when you're done with them.

Paul Carcone

Facilitator
Jun 22, 2008
South Coast
www.carconeconsulting.com
If you are musical...join a band. When I was a student at York Uni, I made a lot of cash at weekends by playing drums with my band. More importantly, the landlord often gives you a free run at the beer tap...so you are saving as well as earning!

barbarp

Facilitator
Aug 20, 2008
Dorset
Learn to cook!!

Back in the dim and distant when dinosaurs roamed the earth and I was at uni we did a little experiment.
One of the girls in my house was always complaining she had no money and why did I have some..well I went shopping with her and I can tell you why she had no money.
She always brought microwave meals , frozen chips etc and always brand stuff rather than the cheaper non-branded items.

If you go down to the supermarket compare the price of a bag of oven chips to a bag of potatoes, the potatoes are nine times out of ten cheaper {unless they're the hand picked by peruvian maidens and specially flown to your door before they were even planted sort.}