Car maintenance skills

Georginazn

Apr 22, 2009
When I first met my DH, he was a non-driver and not interested in cars at all. I was a driver, and my father had always done a lot of his own maintenance. I took an evening class in the basics and it has been a Godsend. Although DH is now a driver, he is still not by any stretch of the imagination a mechanic!
Even if you have AA/RAC type cover, you could save yourself time and hassle by learning two essential skills - tyre changing, and battery charging. They are simple, if grubby, tasks - both of which I have employed this week. I came out of a supermarket and noticed I had a flat. Just got on with it. I was shocked at the three women who came up to me, two to express disbelief that I could do it, and one to ask me if I wanted to use her mobile to phone my husband!!! Made me ashamed to be a woman, but proud to be the woman I am!!
Weirdly, both I and DH left our keys in the ignition this week (we live very very rurally, and neither of us have done this before in 20 years!!) Whatever was in the stars that made us both do this, I am soooooooo glad we have a battery charger as we were both on our way within 90 mins, no problem! (apart from a low lying anxiety about the alternators)

Rachelle

Apr 25, 2009
Funnily enough I just turned around to my husband this week and said that he ought to show me how to change a tyre. Well done you for going on a course. I think that's great.

Chutzpah

Jan 9, 2009
twitter.com
My wife doesn't drive and she can change a tyre. She had to do it for me once when I was in my (very expensive) work suit.

(Before you ask, yes, I can change a tyre too, and have done it in anger)

Witch consumer

Sep 8, 2008
Debtors retreat
Tyres? batteries, you lightweights, I replaced my starter motor on the day of my driving test, and then went on to pass!!!