Who still buys newspapers?

BigTom

Aug 19, 2009
I'm just curious, but who here still buys a newspaper?

I haven't bought one in years, I always read my news online and even when I worked in a shop I rarely borrowed one off the shelf to read at lunchtime. I prefer getting my news online, and to be honest the cultural content in most papers is terrible compared to the equivalent on the internet, at least in my opinion.

Still, I understand some people like to have the paper copy, like to feel the newsprint on their hands. Obviously you save money not buying a newspaper, though I've never seen a good comparison of the environmental impact of papers vs. internet news.

Chutzpah

Jan 9, 2009
twitter.com
As I find that I just skim read most of a paper (as many of the stories are irrelevant to my interest) I just use google news and BBC news online.

Rachelle

Apr 25, 2009
I do both. Love reading the news online but feel that nothing quite beats the feel of a paper in your hands while you're having a coffee.

mlewis09

Aug 15, 2009
Scunthorpe
www.facebook.com
I subscribe to the Times - would have been the Guardian had there offer been as good - I pay £10.80 per month, and £1.20 per week to have the papers delivered to my door, if i bought the paper at full price I'd be paying over £9.00 per week for the paper, then delivery on top, and I got a nice £25 M&S gift voucher as a welcome gift ... definately worth it.

Rachelle

Apr 25, 2009
I get milk still delivered to my door and that's definitely worth it. I love opening the door in the mornings and finding a pint there. Think I may well throw papers into the equation too. That would be heaven.

SophRogers

Sep 16, 2011
I normally buy newspapers and sometimes read news online... I didn't really think of that it would be cheaper to read it online!

peterf

Sep 20, 2011