Returns and Refunds - A Shop Perspective

psychopixi

Sep 8, 2009
Hi,

I work in a shop whose refund policy has recently changed, and HO have not been clear in communicating exactly how we are to deal with faulty returns now.

I was hoping someone here could clarify a few points for me?

Firstly, if a customer wishes to return a faulty item, do they have to have a proof of purchase? I have had customers quoting 'sale of goods act' to me, but as far as I'm aware, the burden of responsibility is on them to prove they a) bought it within the past six months and b) bought it from our company (not a different company who buys from us and sells on, or an ebay sale). Am I right?

Secondly, I've read that 'proof of purchase' can be a bank statement instead of a receipt. Given that we sell many items at the same price, and a customer may buy more than one item in a transaction, am I allowed to refuse a return with a bank statement as proof of purchase as there is no way for me to determine that the charge on the statement was for the particular item the customer wishes to return?

Thank you in advance for your help!

- Pixi

Chutzpah

Jan 9, 2009
twitter.com
A great post Pixi! As someone that has worked in retail and understand the need to have a fairly decent understanding of consumer law, I applaud your efforts to understand the law better.

Proof of purchase can be many things, which as you show could be a bank statement. Obviously it isn't unusual for people to purchase more than one thing in one transaction. However, I do know that when I worked for Tesco we had the ability to search transactions.