Another 2nd Hand Car Dealer

poochball

Sep 17, 2009
Hello,

This is my first post. Hi Everyone.

I purchased a second hand car from a local dealer 11 days ago. As you might have guessed, it has developed a fault.

I spoke to the dealer yesterday who said that the car had a 3 month RAC Warranty.

Unfortunately at the beginning of this week, the Clutch has started to Slip. I am a new driver and for the first few days I was very gentle with the accelerator. As my confidence has grown, I am trying to keep up with the traffic. Unfortunately this has brought the fault to my attention.

Today I took it to a garage who drove it round. The chap was obviously a lot more experienced at driving than I and reproduced the fault very quickly.

He says that the Clutch and Dual Flywheel are not working properly. Another mechanic then took it for a drive for a second opinion and agreed.

I spoke to the RAC Warranty Team who have said that these parts won't be covered as they are preexisting faults.

I have sent a message to the dealer to ask what they can do initially. No response as of yet.

I am considering rejecting the car under the SOGA. However I understand I must offer them the opportunity to repair the car.

There have been some other faults with the car, the reverse light didn't work, the right hand speaker didn't work and the heater only works on setting 4.

These three faults I can accept. However the clutch and flywheel issue is something I don't think I should accept. I have been quoted approx £515 for this to be resolved. The car cost £2800.

Am I being unreasonable? The car was advertised as having a new clutch.

For info, it has done 82000 miles and is 8 years old.

hillside cars

Sep 17, 2009
I would like to warn anyone who is buying a car from dealer HILLSIDE CARS from North Somerset. They also trade as Hillside Garage.