Returned faulty M-Board, company claims a different fault

Batjutsu

Dec 14, 2009
I have returned a faulty computer motherboard and the Scan have said that the warranty is rejected.
The fault was: memory bank B would not detect any memory chips. All of the memory chips worked in the other slots.
The fault they list is not the same as the one that I had. They say the CPU slot is mashed, whatever that means.

I used to run a computer shop a few years, and I am still good friends with the people that I used to work with. I am also a qualified programmer in case extra proof is needed. I have built many computers, and I am extremely experienced.

From my perspective, regardless of this ‘new fault’ they claim the motherboard did not work due to a previous fault. Additionally I have not asked for it back but a replacement.
Maybe the tester messed up and damaged the CPU slot?

Curiously they offer insurance so that a customer is covered in case they damage components during the building process. I did not take this since I have not had a problem over my many years of building PCs.

Has anyone had a similar experience? How does the legalities stand, since they are basically disputing the problem and claiming that I have damaged the board.

Batjutsu

Dec 14, 2009
Update:
The motherboard has a socket protector that covers the CPU socket, on the label it says this must be placed back over the socket if the board is returned. I can not find this cover, and I am sure I did it put it in.

Scan say that this was not done, and they claim that this is how the socket was damaged. They say they will be emailing me a picture. For all I know this picture could be off another motherboard.

Tony

What Consumer Founder
Apr 7, 2008
Bolton
Hi and welcome,

I get most of my stuff from scan and enjoy building PCs too - I have taken stuff back to scan and never had any problems. I do have the luxury of being able to go there and speak to them though.