Please help

barkorful

Feb 10, 2013
i saw an advert of a rover 75 on eBay, and these can being known for their engine problems, the advert clearly stated that a new head gasket had been fitted on the car and the car was being sold for £750. i made an offer and spoke with the seller the next day about the car and he confirmed everything in the advert. i went to pick the car up later in the day. i looked the car over and since i am not a mechanic, there was no way i could tell if the head gasket was changed or not. i took the green slip and filled out my details...paid £650, but the seller failed to disclose that the car was on disabled tax.The seller asked me to sign a paper that said Sold as Seen, which i did and drove the car home without any problems. i had to tax the car to be able to drive, which meant me changing the tax class and filling out a v62 form, and purchasing insurance for the car. i took the rover 75 to a mechanic to have a look, and he said the head gasket had never been changed. at least it was not a new one. i have taken it to two other garages and they have all said the same thing. i have tried to contact the seller and he is telling me since the car was sold as seen, i did not have a case. i have had the car for 10 days now, and still looking to retuen it for a refund. can anyone help advising please

ALewis

Nov 23, 2010
South Wales
Hello,
You are absolutely covered here .. 'Sold as seen' signed or not.
The seller has applied a false description (knowingly or not), to the car, and as you say even confirmed the advert when you went to go take a look.
The misdescription under Section 13 of the Sale of Goods Act means there is a breach of condition, which can lead to recinding the contract if you so wish provided that 'Acceptance' hasn't occured, otherwise there is a breach of warranty which leads to damages.