Rejecting a new car

ernieb

May 4, 2010
I was wondering if you could give me some advice?

I work as a driving instructor and in September 2009 I purchased a brand new 59 plate Seat Ibiza Ecomotive. After a month or so of owning the car I noticed what I can only describe as an intermittent misfire. The problem started to get worse to the point I decided to take the car to the main dealer. After doing a diagnostic check they concluded that the car was fine and it was possibly to do with the type of diesel I was using. I'd only ever used standard Shell diesel but decided to try using Shell V-Power for a couple of weeks. The misfire was still happening.

One morning before starting work I popped the bonnet to check the oil level. To my horror the level was approximately 3 inches above the max level. I called the dealer who said that I was probably getting a wrong reading and to take it round to them. They drained the oil to find the dipstick reading was correct, not only that DIESEL was also mixed with oil! The dealer said they would have to keep the car as this was a serious problem. The mechanics failed to find the fault so sent a report to Seat who advised to replace the 'Tandem fuel pump'.

After receiving the car back it drove flawless for exactly one week when the misfire re-appeared. I was checking the oil on a daily basis at this time, the level again appeared to be rising. After taking the car back to the dealer they confirmed that diesel was yet again getting into the oil. Another report was sent to Seat who this time advised replacing the 'fuel injector seals'. Yet again this did not solve the problem.

I should also state that throughout this time the car go's to the dealer every 2-3 weeks for an oil change.

Another report was sent to Seat who this time advised replacing the cylinder head, even though the head has been given the all clear.