WHY won't Dell Support refund my money?

Juliano

Nov 25, 2011
Hello

This is my problem. On the 15th Novemenber 2011, I had a severed virus infection on my Dell computer. To add to my distress I am not technically savvy, and others had warned me that the virus I had which was rapidly infecting files before my eyes, over 5000 at one count--that it was 'Ramnit' which I was warned could mean a 'wipe'. I have worked so hard on research, and have many files with no back up, so I was desperate to have this problem fixed.

I contacted Dell Support, trusting that they could help. The Indian technican (they are in India) who took over my mouse was looking at the files infected and at the windows programms that had been shut off, and was saying "Oh My God" ove rna dover which was hardly making me feel any better. He then warned me my computer could be at the moment hacked by anyone, and that it could shut down at any moment, and then pushed this deal of £160 incl. VAT' which included the tehncial help, plus a years tehnical support. In desperation I agreed. But no sooner had bhe begun to use the mouse the computer went blue-screen. I was in bits and didn't know what to do. I had even forgotten to jot down their help support number and couldn't use the computer. Eventually I get call from them and they are now depending on me having another computer, or a fried with one. I didn't so they were helpless. I was really upset, and of course I asked for a refund, but they refused.

Eventually another local firm came and have fixed the computer, and installed a good security software and fixed for £85. They told me Dell had misled me that this problem could be fixed from a distance.