Evicted For Complaining

mickyb1967

Jul 5, 2012
Hi, my first time on so here goes!
I have rented the property where i live for 12.5 years, the place was a dump so the letting agents Whitneys Estate Agent in Bradford West Yorks gave a months grace on the rent. The kitchen comprised of a sink unit and a tiny wall unit, the bathroom was as old as my great granny and the enamel on the bath was chipped in several places. I worked on the property (i'm a decorator by trade) to make it some sort of a home. One day the sink unit collapsed because it was rotten and major old so i asked for a repair this fell on deaf ears, i went and got a kitchen of my own and fitted it myself. I have re-placed it 3 times while ive been here. I was twice cut using the bath where the enamel had chipped so i asked for a new one to be told they couldnt afford it and the one in was perfectly useable. I ended up getting my own and had to smash theirs up with a sledgehammer. Several other things kept permanantly going wrong and the trades they sent were to say the least COWBOYS. A corgi registered plumber put tape round the toilet outlet when it leaked (yet again) he did a gas check which comprised of turning the fire on and was happy it worked so wrote out the ticket. I insisted he smoke tested the chimney to be told "I aint got any smoke bombs". I got him some as i'd done it myself the year previous and cleaned out the fire grate there was 6inches or more of dust there. I could catalogue a huge list of botched work they've done on all of this block they own (12 houses here, they own several hundred a workman of theirs told me). All were re-roofed several years ago with concrete marley tiles in place of thin slate no insulation was put in and the roofs wernt streangthened, i have a smashed velux on the inside and cracks galore and split walls. I have expressed my concerns to the agents along with mays rent to be evicted under the housing act of 1988. Now ive found out via the CAB i dont have a le