Vinyl Flooring in a Caravan

mr_rodge

Oct 15, 2012
Vinyl in a Caravan

Hi all,

Bit of a rant for a first post, but more than anything a plea for help regarding a bad experience this weekend.

We have a small static caravan and have had two carpets and the vinyl flooring replaced. The carpets look great, but the vinyl leaves a lot to be desired.

Basically the fitter turned up and was rude, wanted extra money and was like a bull in a china shop. He scratched the walls, knocked pictures off the walls, threw his tools around and rocked the van until it looked like it was going to tip over. Oh and he was so rough with the gas hose on the cooker that it's split in several places, so we now need a plumber. To add insult to injury the shop that quoted on his behalf for fitting lied to us and under-quoted, so he ended up wanting more money than expected.

Issues as follows:

- Cost. I'm a Quantity Surveyor, so I know a thing or two about labour rates etc. We were charged £100 for the installation of two carpets and the vinyl in the van. Room sizes are 6.5 by 7 feet for the bedroom (apologies for not giving metres, I'm old school) and the living room even smaller. (I don't have the exact measures to hand). The point is, I did my homework and a 4m roll of carpet was more than enough to do both rooms. The vinyl was 6.5m by 2m (I remember that one, because I supplied the vinyl as I got it for free from a contact at work). The carpets were fiddly as new grippers had to be fitted and there was the fire place and fitted furniture to cut around, which I can appreciate. The vinyl is no easier, as when caravans are built they lay the floor and carpet first, then build all the furniture on top. I removed the old ones myself by cutting out and made a very neat job. The vinyl was a continuous run from kitchen to bathroom, and it’s a galley kitchen so the units had to be cut around and the floor run into the cooker and fridge spaces. Likewise with the bathroom, the toilet, WHB and show