Defending a court claim for possession of a car

Kathy12

Nov 26, 2015
Hi,

I am new here so sorry if this is in the wrong forum! I bought a car on finance from Santander in 2010. All was going well until my husband lost his job and we ended up defaulting on the agreement in 2013. After much argument we agreed a repayment deal in 2014 with Santander's solicitors DWF on the basis that they would suspend recovery proceedings so long as we kept paying. As far as I know we have not missed a payment, but the standing order was through my husband's bank account and he cannot get hold of statements, so there may have been a missed payment that we don't know about. We haven't had any notification from DWF that we missed any payments.

On 19/11/2015 DWF/Santander issued a County Court claim for a possession order for the vehicle. I should just say I am a litigation solicitor so know how the Court procedure works. I don't need advice about that, just whether to defend the proceedings.

I accept the agreement was valid, that we defaulted and that we owe them the balance, less the payments we have made to them in the interim, which haven't been accounted for in the Particulars of Claim. I also accept that they are entitled to recover the car, regardless of the agreement I had with DWF, although I would imagine the Court would be reluctant to order recovery when we have shown a willingness to pay the balance.